



Joint Press Release by Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth, Singapore & The National Art Gallery, Singapore

Embargoed until 3pm, 1 July 2013

New Chairpersons Appointed for The National Art Gallery, Singapore and the Newly-formed Visual Arts Cluster Advisory Board

Singapore, 1 July 2013 – The Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth (MCCY) has appointed Mr Hsieh Fu Hua as Chairman of The National Art Gallery, Singapore (the Gallery) for a 2-year term beginning 1 July 2013. Mr Hsieh, who holds the post of Deputy Chairman of the Gallery, succeeds Mr Koh Seow Chuan, who will take on the post of Chairman of the Visual Arts Cluster Advisory Board.

i) The National Art Gallery, Singapore

- 2 Mr Koh Seow Chuan has served on the Gallery Board since 2009, when the Gallery was first established as a company limited by guarantee, under the National Heritage Board. During his term, he has helped to shape the Gallery's strategic framework and played a key role in its architectural developments.
- In his letter of appreciation to Mr Koh, Mr Lawrence Wong, Acting Minister for Culture, Community and Youth, said, "The Gallery has progressed significantly from your guidance and advice in shaping the initial developments of the Gallery since you first took on the role as Deputy Chairman of the Gallery's Steering Committee. Your strong guidance and dedicated service has helped put the Gallery on a strong foundation as it gears up for its opening in 2015."
- Ms Chong Siak Ching, CEO of the Gallery and Head of Visual Arts Cluster, said, "We are deeply grateful for Mr Koh's invaluable contributions to the Gallery in the past years. Mr Koh has a deep knowledge of the arts and is well-respected in the arts community. We are delighted that he will continue to play a leadership role in the visual arts landscape in his new post as Chairman of the Visual Arts Cluster Advisory Board."
- Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, who is succeeding Mr Koh Seow Chuan, is the Non-Executive Chairman of United Overseas Bank Limited and President of the National Council of Social Service. He has been serving on the Gallery Board since April 2009 and was appointed as Deputy Chairman of the Board and Chairman of the





Board's Executive Committee in March 2012. Mr Hsieh is also the Chairman of the Gallery's Nomination and Remuneration Committee.

6 Mr Hsieh said, "The Board is deeply grateful to Mr Koh for his invaluable leadership and wise counsel. We look forward to continuing his good work and preparing for the museum opening in 2015."

New Board Members

- 7 Three new members have been appointed to serve on the Gallery's Board for a 2-year term from 1 July 2013. They are:
 - a. Mr Jose Isidro N. (Lito) Camacho, Managing Director and Vice Chairman of Asia Pacific, Country CEO Singapore, Credit Suisse
 - b. Dr Kenson Kwok, Founding Director (Honorary) at Asian Civilisations Museum and Peranakan Museum
 - c. Mr Wee Sin Tho, Vice President (Endowment and Institutional Development), National University of Singapore
- The following members have been reappointed for a further 2-year term from 1 July 2013:
 - a. Ms Chong Siak Ching, CEO, The National Art Gallery, Singapore
 - b. Ms Rosa Daniel, Deputy Secretary (Culture), Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth
 - c. Ms Jane Ittogi, Partner, Shook Lin & Bok LLP
 - d. Mr Kwee Liong Seen, Executive Director, Pontiac Land Pte Ltd
 - e. Mr Benson Phua, CEO, The Esplanade Co Ltd
 - f. Dr Suriani Suratman, Senior Lecturer, Department of Malay Studies, National University of Singapore
- 9 MCCY and the Gallery would like to thank the following retiring Board members for their contribution and service:
 - a. Mr Edwin Low, Managing Director, Co-Head, Southeast Asia Investment Banking and Deputy CEO Singapore, Credit Suisse
 - b. Ms Ng Hsueh Ling, CEO & Executive Director, Keppel REIT Management Limited
 - c. Mr Yeo Whee Jim, Director (Arts and Heritage Division), Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth





ii) Formation of the Visual Arts Cluster Advisory Board

- 10 From 1 July 2013, Mr Koh assumes the role as Chairman of the Visual Arts Cluster Advisory Board for a two-year term. The newly-formed Advisory Board functions as an umbrella platform for the three organisations in the Visual Arts Cluster, namely the National Art Gallery, Singapore, Singapore Art Museum and Singapore Tyler Print Institute. The Board will provide thought leadership to the cluster institutions and help to contribute towards the growth and vibrancy of Singapore's visual arts sector.
- 11 Members of the Visual Arts Cluster Advisory Board comprise:
 - a. Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, Chairman, The National Art Gallery, Singapore
 - b. Ms Jane Ittogi, Chairman, Singapore Art Museum
 - c. Mr Ong Yew Huat, Chairman, Singapore Tyler Print Institute
 - d. Ms Rosa Daniel, Deputy Secretary (Culture), Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth
 - e. Mr TK Sabapathy, Art Historian
 - f. Ms Chong Siak Ching, Head of Visual Arts Cluster

Jointly Issued by Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth, Singapore & The National Art Gallery, Singapore

1 July 2013

For Media Queries:

Connie Lee Assistant Director, Marketing Communications The National Art Gallery

DID: 6690 9445

Email: connie_lee@nationalartgallery.sg

Yan Minru Assistant Manager, Corporate Communications Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth

DID: 6837 9840

Email: yan_minru@mccy.gov.sg